AI coding subscriptions: what you get and the usage limits
Every fact links to the vendor's own page and shows when we last checked it. Where a vendor doesn't publish a number, we say not disclosed.
| Tool | Plan | Price | Stated usage limits | Window | Included models | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude Code | Free | $0 | No Claude Code access | 5-hour session | Sonnet, Haiku | claude.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| Claude Code | Pro | $20/mo monthly; $17/mo billed annually ($200 up front) | At least 5x Free usage per 5-hour session; weekly limits apply; exact count not disclosed | 5-hour + weekly | Opus, Sonnet, Haiku; Fable via usage credits | claude.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| Claude Code | Max 5x | $100/mo | 5x Pro per-session usage; weekly limit across all models; exact count not disclosed. Fable capped at 50% of weekly limits. $100/mo API credits | 5-hour + weekly | Fable, Opus, Sonnet, Haiku | support.claude.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| Claude Code | Max 20x | $200/mo | 20x Pro per-session usage; weekly limit across all models; exact count not disclosed. Fable capped at 50% of weekly limits. $200/mo API credits | 5-hour + weekly | Fable, Opus, Sonnet, Haiku | support.claude.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| OpenAI Codex | Free | $0 | not disclosed | not disclosed | GPT-6 Luna (Standard speed, desktop app, subject to rollout) | learn.chatgpt.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| OpenAI Codex | Go | $8/mo | not disclosed | not disclosed | GPT-6 Luna (Standard speed, desktop app, subject to rollout) | learn.chatgpt.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| OpenAI Codex | Plus | $20/mo | Estimated local messages per 5h: GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160; GPT-6 Sol 15-150; GPT-6 Astra 5-45; GPT-6 Luna 350-3,000. Weekly limits may also apply | 5-hour + weekly | GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Luna (plus GPT-6 Sol/Astra per limits table) | learn.chatgpt.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| OpenAI Codex | Pro | $100, $200 or $500/mo tiers | No 5-hour limit currently; weekly limit amounts not disclosed on pricing page. Ultrafast mode on Pro $500 | Weekly (5-hour currently off) | GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Sol, GPT-6 Luna, GPT-6 Astra | learn.chatgpt.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| OpenAI Codex | Business | $25/user/mo monthly (lower when billed annually, 2+ users) | Standard Business: same per-model 5h ranges as Plus | 5-hour + weekly | GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Sol, GPT-6 Luna, GPT-6 Astra | learn.chatgpt.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| Cursor | Free | $0 | Limited agent and chat requests (not disclosed) | Weekly refresh | Agent and Chat with limited usage; no third-party models | cursor.com checked 2026-10-20 |
| Cursor | Plus | $8/mo or $80/yr | Basic usage pool; exact size not disclosed | Weekly refresh | Cursor models: Grok 4.7, 4.6, 4.5, Composer 2.5 at fixed settings; no Auto, Cloud Agents, Bugbot or third-party models | cursor.com checked 2026-10-20 |
| Cursor | Premium | $30/mo or $300/yr | 4x Plus usage; absolute size not disclosed | Weekly refresh | Cursor models: Grok 4.7, 4.6, 4.5, Composer 2.5; third-party at API list price from prepaid credit | cursor.com checked 2026-10-20 |
| Cursor | Super | $100/mo or $1,000/yr | 15x Plus usage; absolute size not disclosed | Weekly refresh | Cursor models: Grok 4.7, 4.6, 4.5, Composer 2.5; third-party at API list price | cursor.com checked 2026-10-20 |
| Cursor | Ultra | $200/mo or $2,000/yr | 50x Plus usage; absolute size not disclosed | Weekly refresh | Cursor models: Grok 4.7, 4.6, 4.5, Composer 2.5; third-party at API list price | cursor.com checked 2026-10-20 |
| Cursor | Teams | $30, $100 or $200/seat/mo | Matches seat tier (4x/15x/50x Plus) | Weekly refresh | Cursor models: Grok 4.7, 4.6, 4.5, Composer 2.5; third-party at API list price plus Cursor Token Rate | cursor.com checked 2026-10-20 |
| GitHub Copilot | Free | $0 | 2,000 code completions/mo; AI Credits allowance amount not disclosed | Monthly | Auto model selection only | docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| GitHub Copilot | Pro | $10/mo | 1,500 AI Credits/mo (1,000 base + 500 flex) | Monthly | A selection of models | docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| GitHub Copilot | Pro+ | $39/mo | 7,000 AI Credits/mo (3,900 base + 3,100 flex) | Monthly | Premium models (Claude, GPT, Gemini, Grok and others) | docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| GitHub Copilot | Max | $100/mo | 20,000 AI Credits/mo (10,000 base + 10,000 flex) | Monthly | Priority access to premium models | docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| GitHub Copilot | Business | $19/seat/mo | 1,900 AI Credits/user/mo, pooled; overage $0.01/credit | Monthly | Premium models | docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| GitHub Copilot | Enterprise | $39/seat/mo | 3,900 AI Credits/user/mo, pooled; overage $0.01/credit | Monthly | Priority access to premium models | docs.github.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| Gemini CLI / Code Assist | Code Assist Standard | $22.80/user/mo monthly; $19 annual | Gemini CLI + agent mode: 1,500 requests/user/day; 6,000 code requests/day; 960 chat requests/day; 2 req/sec | Daily | Gemini 3 (Preview channel) | docs.cloud.google.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| Gemini CLI / Code Assist | Code Assist Enterprise | $54/user/mo monthly; $45 annual | Gemini CLI + agent mode: 2,000 requests/user/day; 6,000 code requests/day; 960 chat requests/day | Daily | Gemini 3 (Preview channel) | docs.cloud.google.com checked 2026-10-19 |
| Google Antigravity (CLI) | Individual (free) | $0 | Basic weekly rate limits (not disclosed); unlimited Tab completions and Command requests | Weekly | A variety of agent models | antigravity.google checked 2026-10-19 |
| Google Antigravity (CLI) | Google AI Pro | not disclosed on Antigravity pricing page | More rate limits + flexible AI credit pool (not disclosed) | Weekly | Gemini models incl. Gemini 4 Argon | antigravity.google checked 2026-10-19 |
| Google Antigravity (CLI) | Google AI Ultra | not disclosed on Antigravity pricing page | Even more rate limits + flexible AI credit pool (not disclosed) | Weekly | Higher access to latest Gemini models | antigravity.google checked 2026-10-19 |
| Windsurf / Devin | Free | $0 | Light agent quota (not disclosed); unlimited inline edits and Tab | Daily + weekly | Limited model availability | devin.ai checked 2026-10-19 |
| Windsurf / Devin | Pro | $20/mo | Increased quotas (not disclosed); extra usage at API pricing | Daily + weekly | Frontier models from OpenAI, Claude, Gemini, SpaceXAI + open source; free SWE-2 | devin.ai checked 2026-10-19 |
| Windsurf / Devin | Max | $200/mo | Significantly higher quotas (not disclosed) | Daily + weekly | Full model availability | devin.ai checked 2026-10-19 |
| Windsurf / Devin | Teams | $80/mo team + $40/mo per full dev seat | Per-user quota (not disclosed) | Daily + weekly | Full model availability | devin.ai checked 2026-10-19 |
For developers and agents: the same data as a free JSON API and a remote MCP server for Cursor, Claude Code and Codex.
Recent limit changes
- 2026-10-14 GPT-5.5 retired from Codex with ChatGPT sign-in learn.chatgpt.com checked 2026-10-19
- 2026-08-25 5-hour limit restored for Plus learn.chatgpt.com checked 2026-10-19
- 2026-07-12 Codex 5-hour window temporarily suspended community.openai.com checked 2026-10-19
- 2026-06-18 Gemini CLI stops serving Google AI Pro/Ultra and free individual users developers.google.com checked 2026-10-19
Hit your limit?
- Claude Code usage limit reached: when it resets and what to do
- Codex usage limit reached: when it resets and what to do
- Cursor usage limit reached: when it resets and what to do
- GitHub Copilot AI Credits used up: when it resets and what to do
- Gemini CLI / Antigravity limit reached: when it resets and what to do
- Windsurf / Devin usage limit reached: when it resets and what to do
Head-to-head
- Claude Code Max 20x vs OpenAI Codex Pro limits
- Claude Code Pro vs OpenAI Codex Plus limits
- GitHub Copilot Pro+ vs Cursor Premium limits
- Claude Code Max 5x vs GitHub Copilot Max limits
- Cursor Ultra vs Windsurf / Devin Max limits
- Claude Code weekly limit explained
- GitHub Copilot AI Credits explained
- Codex 5-hour limit explained
- Cursor vs Claude Code: plans and limits
- OpenAI Codex vs Claude Code: plans and limits
- GitHub Copilot vs Cursor: plans and limits
- Cheapest AI coding plan
- Best AI coding plan under $50
Get an email when a plan or limit changes
Form not loading? Subscribe on beehiiv.